AGA-R. Robert & Sally Funderburg Research Award in Gastric Cancer

Total Award Amount: $100,000
Term: Two years
Number of Awards:
Eligible Categories: Established Investigators


This award provides $50,000 per year for two years (total $100,000) to an established investigator working on novel approaches in gastric cancer research, including the fields of gastric mucosal cell biology; regeneration and regulation of cell growth (not as they relate to peptic ulcer disease or repair); inflammation (including Helicobacter pylori) as precancerous lesions; genetics of gastric carcinoma; oncogenes in gastric epithelial malignancies; epidemiology of gastric cancer; etiology of gastric epithelial malignancies; or clinical research in the diagnosis or treatment of gastric carcinoma. The award recipient will be acknowledged at the Research Recognition Celebration at Digestive Disease Week® 2017.


The overall objective of this award is to support an established investigator in the field of gastric biology whose research will enhance the fundamental understanding of gastric cancer pathobiology in order to ultimately prevent or develop a cure for the disease. Applications that do not denote a gastric biology focus and are not responsive to this announcement will not be submitted for review.


  • Candidates for this award must hold a full-time faculty position at an accredited North American institution and must be established as an independent investigator in the field of gastric biology.
  • Candidates research must be conducted at a North American institution.
  • Women and minority investigators are strongly encouraged to apply.
  • AGA membership is required at the time of application submission. Please visit the membership page or call 301-654-2055, extension 651, for membership information.
  • Women and minority investigators are strongly encouraged to apply.


  • A letter of recommendation should be provided by the division chief or chair of the department of medicine and should outline support of the candidate and his/her research program.
  • Funds are to be used for the salary support, equipment and supplies of the investigator to promote his/her research. Indirect costs are not allowed.
  • Upon receipt of award notification, the recipient must provide institutional approval from the appropriate committee for use of human subjects or animals. If approval is not necessary, the recipient must provide an explanation.
  • Annually, a one-page plain-language progress report, a scientific progress report, a financial report and a list of publications based on the research must be submitted by the award recipient on or before Jan. 31. Second-year funding is contingent upon submission of this documentation.
  • All publications, presentations and abstracts arising from work funded by this program must acknowledge support from the AGA Research Foundation R. Robert & Sally D. Funderburg Research Award in Gastric Biology.
  • The recipient of this award will be recognized at the Researcher Recognition Celebration during DDW. The recipient and his/her sponsor are strongly encouraged to attend.

Selection Criteria

The recipient will be selected based on novelty, feasibility and significance of the proposal. Preference will be given to novel approaches.

Review Process

A selection committee composed of members of the AGA Research Awards Panel will review the proposals and determine the award recipient. Funding will commence in January.

Application Process

The deadline to apply for this award is Aug. 12, 2016. The completed application, letters of support or commitment and other documents, as applicable, must be combined into and submitted as one PDF document. The document must be titled by the applicant’s last name and first initial only. Hard copies are not accepted; please email the application document. The applicant’s full name and project title are to be included in the submission email. Please direct all questions to the research awards manager via telephone at 301-222-4012 or email.

Support for this award by the R. Robert and Sally D. Funderburg Charitable Trust is gratefully acknowledged.