Innovation in Health Science Education Award 2016-2017

Innovation in Health Science Education Award

Request for Nominations/Applications

Strict Submission Deadline October 7, 2016 at 5pm

Sponsored by:UTSystem_inpost

The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education

The University of Texas System

The University of Texas Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education (“Academy”) is an organization of faculty from the six health science institutions of the UT System with the mission of promoting excellence in health science education. In order to recognize innovation and achievement in health science education, the Academy is seeking applications for its Innovation in Health Science Education Award (“Award”). The Award will recognize an individual (or individuals) who has (have) implemented a project or program with a documented record of innovation and achievement in undergraduate or graduate health science education, encompassing all of the health science disciplines, including educational programs for medical students, medical residents, undergraduate and graduate nursing students, dental students, public health professionals, and allied health professionals.  The Award is to recognize outstanding and sustained achievement as a health science educator with documentation of recent innovation and accomplishment in the last five years. Nominations can come from self, from a colleague, from a local teaching academy, etc.

The Award will be presented at the annual Innovations in Health Science Education

Conference (“Conference”) to be held on February 16-17, 2017 in Austin. Three finalists for the Award will be expected to make 10-minute long presentations at the Conference.  Final evaluation and presentation of the Award will take place at the Conference. The grand prize winner will receive $2500. The first runner up and second runner up will receive $1500 and $1000, respectively.  THE MONETARY AWARD WILL BE PLACED INTO A DISCRETIONARY ACCOUNT ACCESSIBLE AT THE GRAND PRIZE WINNER’S INSTITUTION; THE MONETARY AWARDS WILL BE USED FOR LEGITIMATE EXPENSES TO SUPPORT THE GRAND PRIZE WINNER’S ACADEMIC PURSUITS.


The nomination/application is to include in a SINGLE PDF:

– Name, title, office address, email address and office phone number of nominee

– Description of the program, including unique and innovative aspects

(3 pages or less)

– Evidence of achievements and outcomes (5 pages or less)

– Three (3) letters of support (e.g. Chair of the Curriculum Committee,

Chair of Graduate Medical Education Committee, Department Chair, Division/Section Chief, colleague in department, etc.)

– NIH SF424R-R Biographical Sketch of the nominee

The criteria to be used in evaluating the nominations are:

Educational Merit (10 – 50 points)

Documentation of the program

  • Clear statement of the problem/need that has been addressed
  • Clear goals and objectives of the project/program to meeting the need/problem

Design of the project/program

  • Design is appropriate to the goals and objects to meeting the need/problem
  • The design is clear as an improvement/advancement; the design is clearly described in the project/program
  • The design uses sound methods of data collection and analysis

Relevance (4 – 20 points)

  • Evidence of improvement in the teaching and learning environment; outcomes


  • Evidence of dissemination of product/results of the project/program at the institution and elsewhere; potential to apply product/results of the project/program to other educational settings/venues; publications/presentation that resulted from project/program; plan for future continuation/development/growth of the project

Innovation (2-10 points)

  • The overall innovative aspects of the project/program

Presentation at the Conference (2 – 20 points)

  • Effective communication of the rationale, objectives, and outcomes of the project
  • Clear presentation of convincing evidence that the project has improved the teaching and learning environment

The applications will be reviewed by the Awards Committee and the three awardees will be selected by the Academy members present at the annual Conference.  Selection of finalists/winners of grand prize, first runner up and second runner up by the Awards Committee will be final.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE: October 7, 2016 at 5pm

PEER REVIEW PROCESS: October 10, 2016-December 2, 2016

NOTIFICATION OF 3 FINALISTS: on (or around) December 16, 2016

SELECTION OF GRAND PRIZE WINNER, FIRST RUNNER UP and SECOND RUNNER UP: after presentation at Conference Feb 16-17, 2017 in Austin.

Only applications submitted electronically will be accepted for consideration for the Award.  ALL applications materials including letters of support must be submitted in a single ADOBE pdf format.  Submit the application packet electronically by October 7, 2016 at 5pm to:


Mien-Chie Hung, Ph.D.

Vice President for Basic Research

Professor and Chair

Department of Molecular and Cellular Oncology- Unit 108

Professor, Department of Surgical Oncology

Distinguished Teaching Professor

Ruth Legett Jones Distinguished Chair

The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center

1515 Holcombe Blvd.

Houston, Texas 77030

T: 713-792-3668

F: 713-794-3270



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s